Skip to main content

Archive or Close KPIs

Retain the data and updates of a previous KPI.

It can sometimes be the case that you're no longer tracking a KPI, but want to save the historical data that you've built up instead of simply deleting it.

How to archive a KPI

Click on the 3 dot menu > Archive KPI > Confirm:

Important notes:

  • It's not possible to update progress for an archived KPI, you'll need to unarchive it to update it.

  • Archived KPIs are removed from any KPI boards.

  • It's not possible to align an OKR to an archived KPI.

  • If you want to permanently delete the KPI and all its history, you can delete the KPI instead. This action is irreversible.

How to see archived KPIs

You can see archived KPIs by clicking Show Archived from the company or team page.

Archived KPIs will have a special file icon and message on the modal with the date the KPI was archived.

How to unarchive a KPI

To unarchive a KPI:

  • Click on the 3 dot menu > Restore KPI or the blue Unarchive button on the modal


Perdoo 3.0

How to archive a KPI

You'll find the option to archive in the 3-dot menu in the top right corner of the detail pages:

You can change the stage from Active to Archived in Cascade, or the details modal:

You'll then be asked to fill out a template.

Important notes:

  • Superadmins can customize the template under Configure > Templates > Archiving Notes.

  • Archived KPIs do not count towards progress. If you're done working on them and progress should be counted, Close them instead.

  • It's not possible to update progress for an archived KPI, you'll need to unarchive it to update it.

  • It's not possible to align a new goal to an archived KPI.

  • If you want to permanently delete the KPI and all its history, you can delete the KPI instead. This action is irreversible.

Make visible and restore archived KPIs

In Cascade, select Archived from the Stage dropdown or filter. Once you locate the goal, either change the Stage to Active or select 'Unarchive' from the 3-dot menu:


How to close a KPI

You'll find the option to close in the 3-dot menu in the top right corner of the detail pages:

You can change the stage from Active to Closed in Cascade, or the details modal:

Next, fill out the form:

  • How would you rate your execution? Give a rating out of 5 stars.

  • Closing status:

    • achieved - when the stretch (70%) or committed (100%) outcome is achieved

    • partially achieved - when you've made progress, but not fully achieved the outcome

    • missed - when the desired outcome is not achieved

    • postponed - when the OKR is delayed and will be pushed to sometime in the future

    • canceled - when the OKR is no longer being pursued

  • Answer the templated questions e.g.

    • Learnings

    • Next steps

Click Save.

Important notes:

  • The templated questions are customizable by a Superadmin in Configure > Templates > Closing notes.

    • You can find the Closing note on the KPI's details page or the 'Closing note' column in Cascade.

  • If you're not ready to close it yet, but want to start the closing process, you can uncheck 'Mark as Closed' and this will save your inputs as a draft.

  • Once a KPI is closed, you cannot update it anymore. If you need to update a goal, you'll need to reopen the goal.

  • You do also have the option to delete a KPI, however, this action is permanent and irreversible. A KPI cannot be restored after it's been deleted.

How to edit the Closing Note of a KPI

Select 'Edit Closing Note' within the modal or dropdown menu to edit the notes submitted.

When to re-open a closed KPI

If the KPI's details need to be changed or updates need to be made then the goal will need to be re-opened to make the necessary changes. Select 'Reopen Objective' from the Objective dropdown menu.


Need a hand?

Contact our friendly Support team via the in-app chat at the bottom-right of your screen, or email support@perdoo.com.

Did this answer your question?