At the end of a timeframe, it’s time to wrap up your OKRs and to start thinking about your upcoming priorities. The first, and most important, part of this process is closing your current OKRs.
This article contains everything you need to know to get the most out of this valuable and rewarding exercise.
How to close an OKR
If the OKR is in a past timeframe, you'll find the following options in red:
Click the Close Objective button in red in the right side panel:
Click the 'Close Objective' icon from the OKR list:
If you don't see the previous 2 options, the OKR is in a current timeframe. You can click the 3-dot menu in the top right corner and select Close Objective.
Fill out the form:
How would you rate your execution? Give a rating out of 5 stars.
Closing status:
achieved - when the stretch (70%) or committed (100%) outcome is achieved
partially achieved - when you've made progress, but not fully achieved the outcome
missed - when the desired outcome is not achieved
postponed - when the OKR is delayed and will be pushed to sometime in the future
canceled - when the OKR is no longer being pursued
Answer the templated questions e.g.
Learnings
Next steps
Click Save
*NOTE:
If you're not ready to close it yet, but want to start the closing process, you can uncheck 'Mark as Closed' and this will save your inputs as a draft.
Once an OKR is closed, you cannot update the Key Results or Initiatives anymore. If you need to update a goal, you'll need to reopen the OKR.
It's not possible to archive an OKR. If an OKR is no longer valuable to you, best practice is to close it so that you can record learnings. The OKRs stage will then change to Closed.
You do also have the option to delete an OKR, however, this action is permanent and irreversible. An OKR cannot be restored after it's been deleted.
How to edit the Closing Note of an OKR
Select 'Edit Closing Note' within the modal or dropdown menu to edit the notes submitted.
When to re-open a closed Objective
If the Objective's details need to be changed or updates need to be made to the Objective's Key Results then the Objective will need to be re-opened to make the necessary changes. Select 'Reopen Objective' from the Objective dropdown menu.
FAQ
Can I change the templated questions in the closing note?
Yes, you can, but you need to be a Superadmin to do so. If you do have Superadmin rights, go to Configure > Templates > Closing notes.
Make sure to read this article to understand why our default templates are set up like this.
What are some best practices for closing OKR?
Perdoo 3.0
How to close an OKR
If the OKR is in a past timeframe, you'll find the following red button at the top right corner of its details page:
You'll find the option to close in the 3-dot menu in the top right corner of the detail pages:
You can change the stage from Active to Closed in Cascade, or the details modal:
Next, fill out the form:
How would you rate your execution? Give a rating out of 5 stars.
Closing status:
achieved - when the stretch (70%) or committed (100%) outcome is achieved
partially achieved - when you've made progress, but not fully achieved the outcome
missed - when the desired outcome is not achieved
postponed - when the OKR is delayed and will be pushed to sometime in the future
canceled - when the OKR is no longer being pursued
Answer the templated questions e.g.
Learnings
Next steps
Click Save.
Important notes:
The templated questions are customizable by a Superadmin in Configure > Templates > Closing notes. Make sure to read this article to understand why our default templates are set up like this.
You can find the Closing note on the OKR's details page or the 'Closing note' column in Cascade.
If you're not ready to close it yet, but want to start the closing process, you can uncheck 'Mark as Closed' and this will save your inputs as a draft.
Once an OKR is closed, you cannot update the Key Results or Initiatives anymore. If you need to update a goal, you'll need to reopen the OKR.
You can close Key Results and Initiatives individually as their status changes.
If an OKR should be excluded from progress, choose Archive instead. Archiving has an archiving note so you can still record learnings, but will exclude the OKR's progress so it will no longer count in reporting. The archive note questions are customizable by a Superadmin in Configure > Templates > Archiving notes.
You do also have the option to delete an OKR, however, this action is permanent and irreversible. An OKR cannot be restored after it's been deleted.
How to edit the Closing Note of an OKR
Select 'Edit Closing Note' within the modal or dropdown menu to edit the notes submitted.
When to re-open a closed OKR
If the OKR's details need to be changed or updates need to be made to the Objective's Key Results or Initiatives then the Objective will need to be re-opened to make the necessary changes. Select 'Reopen Objective' from the Objective dropdown menu.
Need a hand?
Contact our friendly Support team via the in-app chat at the bottom-right of your screen, or email support@perdoo.com.







