If you archive a user and they are the lead of an OKR, they continue to be the lead of that OKR even if they're no longer active.
This is why we prefer archiving over deleting: deleting users would remove connections between your goals and the people that are leading or contributing to them, whereas archiving preserves those connections to keep your goal data accurate in the system.
A deleted user results in missing details (see missing Lead data and Unknown User in progress updates below):
Got a question? Contact our friendly Support team via the in-app chat at the bottom-right of your screen, or email email@example.com.